Epilepsy

Summary
Epilepsy is a group of chronic brain diseases caused by a variety of causes, characterized by recurrent, paroxysmal and transient dysfunction of the central nervous system caused by excessive discharge of brain neurons. Epilepsy is the brain diseases, which cause an enduring predisposition to generate epileptic seizures. Epilepsy is a group of neurological disorders characterized by the neurobiologic, cognitive, psychological, and social consequences of this condition.1
Causes
The cause of most cases of epilepsy is unknown.2 Some cases occur as the result of brain injury, stroke, brain tumors, infections of the brain, and birth defects through a process known as epileptogenesis. Known genetic mutations are directly linked to a small proportion of cases.1,2
Symptions
Seizures are the main symptom of epilepsy. Symptoms differ from person to person and according to the type of seizure. Characteristics of seizures vary and depend on where in the brain the disturbance first starts, and how far it spreads. Temporary symptoms occur, such as loss of awareness or consciousness, and disturbances of movement, sensation (including vision, hearing and taste), mood, or other cognitive functions. 2
There are many types of generalized seizures: generalized tonic-clonic seizures, absence seizures, tonic seizures,clonic seizures,myoclonic seizures, atonic seizures, et al.1
Treatment
At present, the main goal of epilepsy treatment is to control seizures, but it should be clear that the ultimate goal of epilepsy treatment is not only to control seizures, but also to improve the quality of life of patients.1
Antiepileptic drug therapy is the most important and basic treatment for epilepsy , and is often the preferred treatment for epilepsy. Epilepsy patients after regular drug treatment, there are still 1/3 of patients with seizures can’t be completely controlled. In drug-resistant cases different management options may be looked at including a special diet, the implantation of a neurostimulator, or neurosurgery.1

 
1.  China epilepsy guideline in 2015.
2.  WHO report in 2019. http://www.who.int/en/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/epileps
CP-89364 Approved date 2019-5-7

癫痫

缓病简介
癫痫是一种由多种病果惹起的缓性脑部缓病,以脑神经元偏激放电招致重复性、支做性战少暂性的中枢神经体系从命通常是特征。癫痫是一种以具有经暂性的致痫倾背为特征的脑部缓病。癫痫是一组以神经逝世物教、认知、心计心情战社会功效为特征的神经缓病。1
病支本果
除夜多数癫痫病例的病果尚出有分明。常睹的病果包罗脑诽谤、脑卒中、脑肿瘤、感染战天赋缺点等,也有部门癫痫病例与基果渐变直接相闭。1,2
临床暗示
癫痫支做是癫痫的主要病症,其临床暗示战病症一视同仁。支做病症的好别主要与决于前导支真个脑区及十分放电传播的范围。可隐现一过性病症,如逝世习丧得,办法窒碍、觉得窒碍(包罗视觉、听觉战味觉)、热忱或其他认知从命混治。2
常睹的癫痫支做规范包罗:片里强直阵挛支做、得神支做、强直支做、阵挛支做、肌阵挛支做、得张力支做等。1
缓病医治
古晨癫痫医治主要借是以把握癫痫支做为尾要目标,但是该当明乌的是,癫痫医治的终纵目标出有但仅是把握支做,更次要的是止进患者糊心量量。1
抗癫痫药物医治是癫痫医治最主要战最根柢的医治,也常常是癫痫的尾选医治。癫痫患者经过正轨的药物医治,仍有 1/3 病人支做出有能残缺把握。闭于易治性癫痫患者,能够思考其他的医治计划,包罗逝世酮饮食、神经安慰器植进或神经中科足术。1

 
1.  China epilepsy guideline in 2015.
2.  WHO report in 2019. http://www.who.int/en/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/epileps
CP-89364 Approved date 2019-5-7